What is this blog really about?

What is this blog really about?

When I began this blog in January, all I knew was that I didn’t know how to blog and I didn’t know how to cook.  Slowly I have been getting better over the course of the semester at both of these things.  In the past few months, I have learned that this blog is about so much more than learning to cook.

Below is a video about who I am and what this blogging journey has been like for me.

The below infographic is both an example of what I know about social media and one of the tools I have learned to use to present information online

1493919667

Not only am I a social media expert, I am also a subject area expert now!  Like I said, this blog is a lot more than me learning to cook.

I have already commented on my own analytics in Baked Chicken Parm and other topics

Here is a slideshow with some snapshots of what I analyzed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have also promoted engagement with my audience by posting content that catches attention and is relatable.  One blog post that had the most engagement was Not Your Mom’s Grilled Cheese

Here are some of the comments I received on my post.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 2.44.40 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-04 at 2.44.34 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-04 at 2.44.28 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-04 at 2.44.21 PM

Trends I am following

I have been following my classmates on Twitter and they have provided some really interesting insights.

This tweet from Rachel embodies how we feel when we don’t get to use social media for an extended period of time. My generation grew up with social media so when it is taken away we feel lost. Our brains are truly rewired!

This tweet from Maddie really spoke to me. We always talk about the negative aspects of social media but conveniently forget that humans are the ones behind the screens. We are in control of our own social media decisions and can’t just blame issues on social media.

I love this tweet from Katrina because it is an example of how businesses need to be so careful now more than ever. Since everything can spread so quickly on social media, companies need to be aware of their actions and content. Any slip up will immediately become infamous.

Some of my own Twitter Insights

I retweeted this Time article because it exhibited one of the positive aspects of a world with social media.  Some great things are going on in the world of social and we should be aware of it.

I tweeted this because of what we learned in class about privacy and the ways businesses gain information about our online habits.  When I saw the promoted tweet from SproutSocial, I knew it was because I had been working on a social media project with Sprout Social.

I tweeted at Chef Gordon Ramsay to see if he would engage with my tweet or look at my blog.  Unfortunately he never answered, but I still can’t help but to laugh at his responses to people’s food pictures.  If he had answered I think that would have increased my views.

Privacy in a world with social media

I am extremely concerned about privacy in our current social media world.  As a kid, I was warned bout the dangers of talking to strangers online and posting personal information.  Yet, nobody talked to us about issues like hacking.  Hacking is a real issue facing our society today.  We hear about credit card information being stolen from large companies often and that can have real world implications for thousands of people.  Somehow, despite new technology coming out that supposedly makes credit card transactions safer, hackers are getting smarter and know how to work around the systems in place.  Do we have any choice to opt out of this? Not really if you want to go shopping without hundreds of dollars in cash on you.  Unfortunately we are kind of stuck and need to rely on ew innovative technologies to keep our data secure. 

Activism in the social media world

Activism is a hot topic and I have some mixed feelings on it.  Part of me wants to say “back in the day, people actually did something instead of just sitting around and tweeting.”  I think activism on social media has positive and negative aspects.  Spreading a message on social media is much easier than other mechanisms so it can get more people involved.  However, some argue that slacktivism, or activism in the form of changing a profile picture or just retweeting a message, doesn’t really do anything.  I personally do not think it makes significant change alone, but makes other people more aware of an issue.  I know that I would not have known so much about sexual assault issues happening on my campus if it wasn’t for the social media activism of some of my classmates. 

Thanks for being a part of the blogging journey.  As always let me know what you think in the comments below or on Twitter @KristinaAzevedo

Leave a Reply

