I’m getting better!…Kind of

I’m getting better!…Kind of

Normally I love to make fun of my cooking abilities but I have to admit that I am slightly better at cooking than I was just a few months ago.  I have been branching out and trying new things, using some quality ingredients, and seeing some great results!  This week I was a little daring and decided that I was in the mood for salmon.

Unsure of how to prepare my salmon, I turned to Buzzfeed Tasty, my go-to cooking inspiration.  I found a great video showing you how to prepare salmon four different ways.  I settled on the tomato pesto salmon because I love pesto.

Click here for the article that inspired to make my tomato pesto salmon.  It was extremely easy to make this meal because it required very little prep time.

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 6.53.09 PM

My only issue was that my salmon needed a lot more time in the oven than the recipe called for.  I didn’t account for my filet of salmon being much larger than the filet in the Tasty video, which would explain why I needed to leave my salmon in the oven for much longer.  I learned for next time.

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 7.33.40 PM

I hope I have inspired you to try something new.  Comment below or talk to me on Twitter @KristinaAzevedo if you try this or anything else!

6 thoughts on “I’m getting better!…Kind of

  1. This recipe looks super delish – I’m a big pesto/tomato (and mozzarella!) fan, so this looks like something I’d enjoy. I have to admit – I have never seen or thought of incorporating a recipe as an infographic, and you did a really great job of doing so in a creative way in this post. It made everything very clean and easy to read, and the pictures help guide the reader on what to do. If you do it again, I would suggest even separating the steps and taking pictures of each one to show what the dish should look like from step to step. Anyways, I hope the final meal was delish, and great job using an infographic in a creative way!

    Like

  2. Like anything, practice seems to make perfect! Love following your cooking adventures and glad to hear you’re improving. Love the infographic here, definitely a bit unconventional but gets the job done very effectively! I hope you keep your blog going after our class is over, your recipes are look delish!

    Like

  3. This looks so good! I can totally relate to this, I too am an incompetent cook and I had a similar experience when I attempted to make salmon last summer. I tried to make a teriyaki salmon and mine came out undercooked too, even though I followed the recipe perfectly. My problem is that I am beyond grossed out by raw meats or fish, so when I realized it was undercooked after I taste tested it, I was traumatized. Now I refuse to try to cook meat or fish myself. I applaud you for branching out and trying new recipes! That takes a lot of patience to perfect (patience I wish I had)

    Like

  4. Yum!!! This looks so good!!! I love how you used the infographic to show the recipe- it looks like a little recipe card that would be so easy to print out and follow while cooking. I definitely struggled a bit on how to incorporate an infographic into my food blog and ultimately just chose to share some food facts that related to what I had cooked but I wish I had thought of something like this!

    Like

  5. Wow salmon, tomato and pesto is like a heavenly combination, all three of them are my favorites. The use if infographic made it much easier for readers to catch what they need to make the food and how they should make it. I appreciate your work & will definitely try this one out!

    Like

  6. I am totally obsessed with Tasty videos and spend my free time trying to make the dishes. I do find that often I do have to cook things longer than directed or that I have to add more ingredients but that’s all the fun of cooking. Keep going with your cooking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

